Picture Categories

Deutsch | “ú–{Œê | English

awate-e (hysteria-pictures)

In the 8th month of 1862 one Englishman was killed and two others wounded by Japanese in the village of Namamugi. The incident of Namamugi became politically important and the English claimed a huge sum of compensation. To show their military power English war ships sailed into the bay of Edo. As the inhabitants of Edo flew in panic the different scenes of that stampede was shown in the awate-e.

bijin-ga (beauty-pictures)

At the 4th day of the 6th month of 1842 the government passed a law against the representation of beauties (mostly courtesans from the pleasure quarters). To avoid the law beauties where presented in a humoristic way accompanied by poems and explanations on the particular situation.

Boshin sensō-e (Boshin War-pictures)

From 1868 to 1869 the Boshin-war was fought between the adherents of the Emperor (shinseifu-gun: Satsuma-han und Chōshū-han etc.) and the Tokugawa Shogunat (sabaku-gun: bakufu, Aizu-han, Kuwana-han etc.). (As the year 1868 is named gboshinh after the Japanese calendar, the war was named after the year´s name). The defeat of the Shōgunat-party lead directly to the Meiji-restauration.
Regarding the Boshin-war, the so called kodomo no asobi-e (gchildplay-picturesh) and otona no tawamure-e (ggrownup-play-picturesh) have been produced. Thereby two groups of children or adults are playing a game, representing the opponents of the war. By means of the patterns and crests on the figurefs robes, one can identify the players as the governmentfs (Tokugawa-shogunate) or Emperorfs group. Depending on the historical development the situation of winner and looser in the course of the game is changing too.
Among all categories of caricature pictures Boshin-war pictures has been produced to the highest number and stand on the pike of the boom. Nowadays about 300 different picture motives are preserved.

bunmei kaika-e (modernisation-pictures)

After the Meiji-Restauration of 1868 western culture, science and techniques were introduced to Japan as fast as possible. The change to the western culture and ideology was not conducted as a total concept, but parts of the western lifestyle were blended with the Japanese one. Bunmei kaika-e were making fun about the sometimes grotesque results. One typical example is the combination of Western and Japanese fashion elements as Western skirts worn with Japanese shoes or Japanese Kimonos worn with Western hats and accessories etc.

fūshiga (caricatures)

In this category of pictures politicians, famous persons but also moral concepts, fashion trends etc. are presented in an ironical way. As different kind of topics, but especially political ones, were forbidden by the bakufu-government in the Edo-period, the desired content had to be presented indirectly.

giga (humor-pictures)

hanji-e (rebus-pictures)

These pictures are a play on words, forming a riddle that the viewer has to dissolve. Example: to represent a rake (kumade), a bear (kuma) and a hand (te) are shown – together forming the word "kumade". The pictures and the emerged word usually have nothing in common but the pronunciation. Topics of this kind of riddles were typical products from the Japanese provinces, but above all, famous poets, heroes of the past and famous actors of that time.

hashika-e (measles-pictures)

From the 4th to the 7th month of 1862 one of Japans largest measles epidemic spread in Edo. Funny pictures emerged as charms against the disease. General information on measles where given but also therapeutic measures against the disease presented. Nowadays about 100 different picture motives are preserved.

hayarigami-e (fashion-gods-pictures)

From spring to summer of 1849 there was a temporary boom of three fashion-gods. Okina Inari Daimyōjin was worshipped in Nihonbashi, Datsueba in Naitō Shinjuku Shōjuin and Otake Dainichi-nyorai in Ryōgoku Ekōin. Until today there are still about 50 different picture-themes about these three fashion-gods preserved.

ken no e (ken-pictures)

Ken is a game for one or two persons, played with the hands. Different versions of ken-plays existed; one of it was very alike the "paper, fist and scissors" we are still playing nowadays. One is winning but one is also always loosing – so there are no real winners in that game. Ken was introduced in the Edo-period from China and was initially played at carousals in the pleasure quarters. Later on, it got popular within a wider range of society too. In 1847 the totetsuru-ken (kabuki-dance with a ken-constellation) was first performed at the Kawarazaki-theatre in Edo whereupon the totetsuru-ken-pictures became resoundingly successful. Afterwards there have been some other successful performances of kabuki-ken-dances (kitsune-ken, sangoku-ken, asakusa-ken etc.) with the belonging ken-play-pictures following.

namazu-e (earthquake-pictures)

On the 2nd day of the 10th month of 1855 there had been a big earthquake in Edo. Immediately after the calamity large quantities of pictures with catfish-motives emerged. The boom was stopped soon after by the prohibition of the government on the 14th day of the 12th month of the same year. Although there have not been more than two and a half month of time about 400 different catfish-pictures have been produced (source: Nai no hinami). Until today about 200 different motives have been preserved.
As a Japanese legend tells, an enormous catfish lays deep down in the earth. Normally he is caught by some huge rocks (kaname-ishi) by the Shinto-divinity Kashima Daimyōjin so he could not cause any harm by moving his body. But in the 10th month Kashima Daimyōjin usually travels to Izumo to assemble with all the other Shinto-divinities. That is why the 10th month is also called the kannatsuki (godless month). Because of the absence of the guard the catfish could break free and move as violently under the earth as to evoke the big earthquake.
You will neither find any signature of the artist nor a censorship stamp on this kind of pictures as the production had to be very fast because of the up-to-dateness but also anonymous because of the ban on the depiction of current events. As the infrastructure of the censorship mechanism was destroyed too, the producers had a little advantage. There have been two different types of content: the early pictures, produced immediately after the earthquake, presented the catfish as something negative, producing destruction and agony. On later pictures the catfish was shown by his positive site, causing economic revival by the reconstruction of the city.

Nisshin- Nichirosensō-e (Sino-Japanese and Russo-Japanese War-pictures)

Caricatures about the two wars of the Meiji-period, the Sino-Japanese War (Nisshin sensō, 1894-95) and the Russo-Japanese War (Nichiro sensō, 1904-05) have been produced. Among them there have been two series called Nippon banzai and Hyakusen hyakushō. The last title could be read as g100 wars, 100 victoriesh, but could also be translated with g100 times chosen, 100 times laughed ath. The last series of all woodprints which was produced on a grand scale was about the Russo-Japanese War in 1905.

Seinan sensō-e (Seinan War-pictures)

In 1877 the leader of the Kagoshima-partisans, Saigō Takamori, put up an army against the politic of the new Meiji-government, as the abolition of the samurai-class. The Seinan sensō (Southwestern war or Satsuma rebellion) became a topic for many caricatures.

shini-e (memorial-pictures)

Memorial-pictures became popular in the second half of the Edo-period (1603-1868) as reminiscence of deceased (mostly famous actors etc.). A portrait of their life was drawn; their stage and posthumous name, cause and date of death, their deathbed poem etc. were enclosed. As memorial-pictures were forbidden, no sign of the actor or censorship stamp is enclosed. To cheer up the bereaved, the content was presented in a humorous way.
The most famous theme of memorial-pictures with 100-300 different motives was produced on the occasion of the death of the kabuki-actor Ichikawa Danjūrō VIII. Then superstar of the kabuki-world has killed himself in 1854 with 32 years of age in Ōsaka. As the circumstances of his death remained mysterious, all kind of conspiracy theories appeared in the pictures too.

shōgun jōraku-e (Shogunfs procession-pictures)

1863-64 the series shōgun jōraku-e about the proceeding of the shogun to the emperor in Kyōto emerged. Each of the g53 stations of the Tōkaidōh from Edo to Kyōto and the receiving at the emperorfs castle were displayed. Because this type of presentations where forbidden, the Tokugawa shogun was replaced by Minamoto Yoritomo on the pictures.

uke-e (fortune-pictures)

The teaching of yin and yang says that seven good years are alternating with five bad years. That is why one will always give a uke-e, showing seven things which are starting with the first sound from the word gfukuh (gfortuneh), as a present. Example: " fude" (gbrushh), "Fuji-san" (gMount Fujih) etc. That is how one tries to tie the fortune down to oneself. The costume to give away uke-e for good fortune emerged in the end of the Edo-period.

usagi-e (rabbit-pictures)

In 1874 the government enforced the breeding of bunnies. Thereupon a lot of caricatures about this topic emerged.

yakusha-e (actor-pictures)

Pictures of famous kabuki-actors. At the 4th day of the 6th month of 1842 the government passed a law against the representation of actors, but also of the stage design etc. of the kabuki-theatre. Kuniyoshi and his students avoided the law by using animal protagonists – each representing one particular famous kabuki-actor.

Yokohama-e (Yokohama-pictures)

In 1858 a trade agreement with US-America was concluded, soon followed by similar agreements with Russia, England, France and the Netherlands. In the course of these agreements, the harbours of Nagasaki, Hakodate and Yokohama were opened to foreign ships. Yokohama became an important harbour for foreign trade and a lot of foreigners became residents of this city. The Yokohama-pictures dealt with Westerners themselves, their lifestyle, matters and objects concerning Westerners. They gained great popularity.

yose-e (assembled pictures)

The elements of the picture are a composition of different small objects, not necessarily linked to the whole content. Example: the pictures of human bodies are organised in a way that they are forming the picture of a human face.

Bildkategorien

Deutsch | { | English

awate-e (Hysterie-Bilder)

Im 8. Monat des Jahres 1862 wurde im Dorf Namamugi ein Engländer von Japanern ermordet und drei Engländer verletzt. Dieser „Vorfall von Namamugi“ verursachte großes Aufsehen und schließlich forderten die Engländer eine beträchtliche Geldsumme als Wiedergutmachung. Zur Machtdemonstration fuhren sie mit Militärschiffen in die Bucht von Edo ein. Einwohner von Edo und der Umgebung flüchteten in größter Eile. Diese Szenen der Flucht wurden in den awate-e dargestellt.

bijin-ga (Schönheiten-Bilder)

Am 4. Tag des 6. Monats des Jahres 1842 hatte die Regierung ein Gesetz gegen die Abbildung von „Schönheiten“ (meist Kurtisanen aus den Vergnügungsvierteln) erlassen. Um das Gesetz zu umgehen, stellte man daraufhin die schönen Frauen in lustigen Situationen dar und lieferte Erklärungen und Gedichte dazu. Die so entstandenen Karikaturen waren dadurch vom Gesetz ausgenommen.

Boshin sensō-e (Bilder vom Boshinkrieg)

Von 1868 bis 1869 wurde zwischen den Anhängern des Kaisers (shinseifu-gun: Satsuma-han und Ch?sh?-han etc.) und dem Tokugawa Shogunat (sabaku-gun: bakufu, Aizu-han, Kuwana-han etc.) der Boshin-Krieg ausgetragen (nach dem japanischen Kalender heißt das Jahr 1868 boshin-Jahr). Die Niederlage der Shogunats-Partei führte direkt zur Meiji Restauration.
Zum Boshin-Krieg entstanden die sogenannten kodomo no asobi-e und auch otona no tawamure-e. Dabei spielen zwei Gruppen von Kindern oder Erwachsenen verschiedene Spiele und repräsentieren die jeweiligen Kriegsgegner. Anhand der Muster und Wappen auf den Gewändern kann man die Figuren den Anhängern der Regierungs- (Tokugawa-Shogunat) bzw. der Kaiserpartei zuordnen. Je nach geschichtlichem Verlauf änderte sich die Situation der einzelnen Gruppen im Spiel als Gewinner oder Verlierer.
Von allen Karikaturbildern wurde von dieser Kategorie die größte Anzahl produziert und bildete somit die Spitze des Karikaturbooms. Es sind um die 300 verschiedenen Bildmotive erhalten.

bunmei kaika-e (Modernisierungsbilder)

Nach der Meiji-Restauration 1868 wurde versucht, möglichst rasch westliche Kultur, Wissenschaft und Technik in Japan einzuführen. Japaner übernahmen den westlichen Lebensstil und westliche Ideologien. Es erfolgte jedoch keine ganzheitliche Übernahme sondern stückchenweise wurde der westliche Lebensstil mit traditionellen japanischen Elementen kombiniert. Bunmei kaika-e machten sich über die teilweise grotesken Ergebnisse lustig. So wurden beispielsweise traditionelle Kimonos mit westlichen Schuhen oder Hüten kombiniert, oder man trug im Gegenteil westliche Kleidung mit japanischen Accessoires.

fūshiga (Karikaturen)

Bilder, in denen Politiker oder berühmte Persönlichkeiten aber auch Moralvorstellungen oder Modetrends etc. ironisch dargestellt werden. Da es in der Edo-Zeit von der bakufu-Regierung jedoch streng verboten war, sich öffentlich über bestimmte Themen, aber vor allem über Politik zu äußern, mussten die Inhalte mittels versteckter Anspielungen dargestellt werden.

giga (Humor-Bilder)

hanji-e (Rätsel-Bilder)

Wortspiele werden in Bilder umgesetzt. So entsteht ein Rätsel, das der Betrachter aufzulösen hat. Beispiel: um einen Rechen (kumade) darzustellen, werden ein Bär (kuma) und eine Hand (te) abgebildet, die zusammen „kumade“ – Rechen ergeben. Die Bilder und das entstandene Wort haben meist keine inhaltliche Verbindung, es kommt nur auf die Bezeichnung des Bildes an. Zu raten waren neben typischen Produkten der einzelnen Provinzen aber vor allem die Namen berühmter Dichter, Helden der Vergangenheit sowie berühmter Schauspieler der damaligen Zeit.

hashika-e (Masern-Bilder)

Vom 4. bis 7. Monat des Jahres 1862 kursierte in Edo eine der größten Masernepidemien Japans. Lustig Bilder entstanden als Talisman gegen die Krankheit. Es gab auch Verhaltensmaßregeln wie man sich vor der Krankheit schützen könne aber auch Therapievorschläge. Heute sind noch ca. 100 verschiedene Bildmotive erhalten.

hayarigami-e (Modegötter-Bilder)

Vom Frühjahr bis Sommer 1849 gab es kurzzeitig einen Boom um drei Modegötter. Okina Inari Daimyōjin wurde in Nihonbashi verehrt. Datsueba in Naitō Shinjuku Shōjuin und Otake Dainichi-nyorai in Ryōgoku Ekōin. Insgesamt sind bis heute ca. 50 verschiedene Bildarten über diese drei Modegötter erhalten geblieben.

ken no e (ken-Bilder)

Ken ist ein Spiel für zwei oder drei Personen, das mit den Händen gespielt wird. Es gibt verschiedene Versionen, eine davon ähnelt unserem heutigen "Schere, Stein, Papier". Es gewinnt immer einer, aber einer muss auch immer verlieren - im Grunde gibt es also keinen wirklichen Gewinner. Dieses Spiel wurde in der Edo-Zeit von China aus eingeführt und war anfangs bei Trinkgelagen im Vergnügungsviertel populär. Später fand es auch in weiteren Teilen der Gesellschaft Verbreitung. 1847 wurde im Kawarazaki-Theater (Edo) der totetsuru-ken (Kabuki-Tanz mit ken-Konstellation) erstmals aufgeführt woraufhin die totetsuru-ken-Bilder ein riesiger Erfolg wurden. Auch danach gab es noch eine Reihe von erfolgreichen Aufführungen von Kabuki-ken-Tänzen (kitsune-ken, sangoku-ken, asakusa-ken etc.) und den dazugehörigen populären ken-Spiel-Bildern.

namazu-e (Erdbeben-Bilder)

Am 2. Tag des 10. Monats des Jahres 1855 gab es ein großes Erdbeben in Edo. Sofort nach diesem Unglück entstanden massenhaft Bilder mit Wels-Motiven. Dieser Boom hielt jedoch nur ca. zweieinhalb Monate an, da sie am 14. Tag des 12. Monats des gleichen Jahres von der Regierung verboten wurden. Trotz dieses kurzen Zeitraums wurden ca. 400 Wels-Bildern produziert (Quelle: Nai no hinami). Bis heute sind ca. 200 verschiedene Bildmotive erhalten.
Laut einer japanischen Sage liegt ein riesiger Wels-Fisch tief in der Erde. Normalerweise wird er mit großen Steinen (kaname-ishi) von der Shinto-Gottheit Kashima Daimy?jin festgehalten, damit er keinen Schaden verursachen kann. Im 10. Monat reist Kashima Daimy?jin jedoch immer nach Izumo zu einer Versammlung aller Shinto-Gottheiten, weshalb der 10. Monat auch als kannatsuki (gottloser Monat) bezeichnet wird. Durch die Abwesenheit des Wächters konnte sich der Wels-Fisch losreißen und unter der Erde so heftig bewegen, dass es zum großen Erdbeben gekommen ist. Auf den Bildern findet sich kein Name des Künstlers oder Zensurstempel, da die Produktion aufgrund der Aktualität einerseits schnell gehen musste und andererseits auch anonym erfolgen musste, wegen des Verbots der Abbildung von aktuellen Ereignissen. Da die Infrastruktur der Zensurinstitutionen auch zerstört worden war blieb den Produzenten jedoch ein kleiner Vorsprung.
Die Bilder hatten zwei verschiedene inhaltliche Motive: Die früheren Darstellungen, unmittelbar nach dem Erdbeben entstanden, stellten den Wels immer als etwas Negatives dar, der Zerstörung und Leid hervorgebracht hatte. In späteren Bildern wurde der Wels von seiner positiven Seite gezeigt, der den wirtschaftlichen Aufschwung durch den nötig gewordenen Wiederaufbau verursacht hatte.

Nisshin- Nichiro sensō-e (Bilder vom Sino-Japanischen und Russisch-Japanischen Krieg)

Über die zwei Kriege der Meiji-Zeit, den Sino-Japanischen Krieg (Nisshin sens?, 1894-95) und den Russisch-Japanischen Krieg (Nichiro sens?, 1904-05) wurden jeweils Kriegskarikaturen angefertigt. Darunter gab es zwei Serien mit den Titeln Nippon banzai und Hyakusen hyakush?. Während nur die Lesung des letzten Titels wörtlich „100 Kriege, 100 Siege“ bedeutet, können die Zeichen auch mit „100 mal ausgewählt, 100 mal ausgelacht“ übersetzt werden.
Die letzte Serie von Holzschnitten die im großen Stil produziert wurde, waren Bilder über den Russisch-Japanischen Krieg.

Seinan sensō-e (Bilder vom Seinan-Krieg)

1877 stellte der Anführer der Kagoshima-Anhänger, Saigō Takamori, bei Kumamoto eine Armee gegen die Politik der neuen Meiji-Regierung, wie der Abschaffung des Samurai-Standes, auf. Dieser Seinan sensō (Südwestliche Krieg oder Satsuma Rebellion) wurde zum Thema vieler Karikaturen.

shini-e (Totengedenk-Bilder)

Memorial-Bilder kamen in der zweiten Hälfte der Edo-Zeit auf. Als Erinnerung an Verstorbene – meist berühmte Schauspieler oder andere Berühmtheiten – wurde ein Porträt ihres Lebens gezeichnet. Diese Bilder enthielten die Lebensdaten des Verstorbenen, Gedichte, Todesursache, das Abschiedsgedicht des Toten, seinen posthumen Namen oder Ähnliches. Da Memorial-Bilder verboten waren trugen sie keinen Namen des Künstlers oder Zensurstempel. Um sich über den Verlust hinweg zu trösten, waren die Inhalte auf eine lustige Art dargestellt. Das populärste Memorial-Bild-Thema mit 100-300 verschiedenen Motiven kam anlässlich des Todes des Kabuki-Schauspielers Ichikawa Danjūrō VIII auf. Der damalige Superstar der Kabuki-Welt hatte 1854 mit 32 Jahren in Ōsaka Selbstmord begangen. Aufgrund der mysteriösen Umstände seines Todes fanden sich auch die verschiedensten Verschwörungstheorien in den Bildern wieder.

shōgun jōraku-e (Shoguns Prozession-Bilder)

1863-64 entstand eine Serie shōgun jōraku-e über den Einzug des Tokugawa Shoguns beim Kaiser in Kyōto. Alle "53 Stationen des Tōkaidō" von Edo bis Kyōto sowie der Empfang im Kaiserpalast wurden dargestellt. Da diese Abbildung jedoch verboten war wurde auf den Bildern der Tokugawa Shogun als Minamoto Yoritomo dargestellt.

uke-e (Glücks-Bilder)

Die Lehre von Yin und Yang besagt, dass sich jeweils sieben gute mit fünf schlechten Jahren abwechseln. Deshalb verschenkte man uke-e auf denen immer sieben Dinge abgebildet waren, die mit dem ersten Laut von „fuku“ (Glück) begonnen. Z.B.: „fude“ (Pinsel), „Fuji-san“ (Berg Fuji) etc. So versuchte man, das Glück an sich zu binden. Die Mode uke-e zu verschenken um Glück zu bringen, entstand Ende der Edo-Zeit.

usagi-e (Hasen-Bilder)

1874 hatte die Regierung das Züchten von Hasen vorangetrieben. Daraufhin entstanden viele humoristische Bilder und Karikaturen über dieses Thema.

yakusha-e (Schauspieler-Bilder)

Bilder von berühmten Kabuki-Schauspielern. Am 4. Tag des 6. Monats des Jahres 1842 hat die Regierung ein Gesetz erlassen, das das Abbilden der Schauspieler aber auch der Bühnenbilder, Requisiten etc. des Kabuki-Theaters verboten hat. Kuniyoshi und seine Schüler griffen zur List, die Schauspieler-Bilder mit tierischen Protagonisten zu versehen, die jeweils einen Schauspieler repräsentierten, und konnten so das Gesetz umgehen.

Yokohama-e (Yokohama-Bilder)

1858 wurde ein Handelsvertrag mit US-Amerika, danach auch mit Russland, England, Frankreich und den Niederlanden abgeschlossen. Im Zuge dieser Verträge wurden die Häfen von Nagasaki, Hakodate und Yokohama für ausländische Schiffe geöffnet. Daraufhin entwickelte sich Yokohama rasch zu einer grosen Handelsstadt in der sich auch viele Ausländer niederliesen. Die Yokohama-Bilder befassten sich mit dem neuen Lebensstil der Ausländer in Yokohama und wurden sehr populär.

yose-e (Zusammengesetzte Bilder)

Die einzelnen Bildelemente werden durch verschiedene kleinere Objekte zusammengestellt, die mit dem Hauptbild nichts zu tun haben müssen. Beispiel: mehrere menschliche Körper ergeben in ihrer speziellen Anordnung das Gesamtbild eines menschlichen Kopfes.