How to use the database

Deutsch | { | English

Preliminary note

The database is still under construction and will be regularly expanded and updated.
The website works best with the Internet Explorer 6.0 and Mozilla Firefox 1.5 or higher. In Opera and other less common browsers minor display errors may occur (it might be necessary to change the encoding to: Japanese > ISO-2022-JP).

Description of the database

"Ukiyo-e caricatures 1842-1905" is a project conducted by the members of a research team of the Department for East Asian Studies, University of Vienna, and financed by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF).

User group

No restrictions

Rules of usage and disclaimer

The database can be freely used for non-commercial purposes. Copying, printing, disseminating the content of the database, or using it in a modified way are forbidden without explicit authorisation of the Department for East Asian Studies of the University of Vienna. The copyright of the complete content of the database is in possession of the Department for East Asian Studies of the University of Vienna. When using the results of the research the originator has to be quoted explicitly.
The Department for East Asian Studies of the University of Vienna does not take liability for any possible errors of the content or loss that may be caused by the use of the database.

Overview of the different (search) functions

  1. Trilingual search function available (Japanese, English, German)
  2. The following information can be recalled at the top page in any of these languages:
    History (about the history of caricatures on Japanese woodblock-prints, 1842-1905)
    Picture categories (general explanation of the different categories)
    Artists
    Glossary
    Bibliography
    Institutions and persons (information on the owners of the pictures and copyright)
    About the project
    Imprint
    Contact

Remarks on the images

  1. The images can be enlarged to show details.
  2. Entries of images that form part of a series provide links to the complete series.
  3. Sometimes an image can be classified as belonging to more than one category (e.g.: yakusha-e and bijin-ga) at the same time. All pictures, belonging to the same category can be recalled at any point of the database where one image of this category appears for cross reference.
  4. In the copyright-line overall information about the copyright of the pictures is provided.
    In some cases the full name of the owner of the images is not provided, but can be requested.
    Pictures for which the copyright could not be obtained appear just in outlines.
    For reasons of data protection the logo of the Department of East Asian Studies of the University of Vienna is placed on each picture.
  5. Date specifications are until January the 1st of 1873, when the Gregorian calendar was introduced, given in the system of the old Japanese lunar calendar (taiin reki). The 5th month of that time is corresponding roughly with the month June of nowadays. Because of technical reasons in this database the formula “1st day of the 5th month of 1850” was also often replaced by the abbreviated version “1.5.1850”.
  6. The users may write comments on the database or the images (via e-mail to the research team)

Please note

When the complete term of search (title of image or series, name of publisher or artist etc.) is not known the following method can be applied: replace the unknown part by an * (asterisk). E.g.: "Kuni*" in place of "Kuniyoshi" or "*tsuchigumo*" in place of "Minamoto Raikō-kō yakata tsuchigumo yōkai o nasu no zu".

Benützung der Datenbank

Deutsch | { | English

Vorbemerkung

Die Datenbank befindet sich momentan noch in Arbeit und wird laufend erweitert und verbessert.
Diese Webseite ist optimiert für Internet Explorer 6.0 sowie Mozilla Firefox 1.5 oder höher. Bei Opera und anderen weniger verbreiteten Browsern können unter Umständen Darstellungsfehler auftreten (eventuell die Kodierung umstellen auf: Japanisch > ISO-2022-JP).

Bezeichnung der Datenbank

Die Datenbank "Ukiyo-e Karikaturen 1842-1905" wurde von den Mitarbeitern der gleichlautenden Forschungsgruppe des Instituts für Ostasienwissenschaften der Universität Wien erstellt und durch den Fond zur Förderung der Wissenschaftlichen Forschung (FWF) finanziert.

Benutzergruppe

Keine Einschränkungen

Benützungsregeln und Haftungsausschluss

Die Datenbank kann von jedermann frei benützt werden. Ausgenommen davon ist die Verwendung für kommerzielle Zwecke. Das Kopieren, Ausdrucken oder eine anderweitige Veränderung oder Verbreitung des Inhalts dieser Datenbank ist ohne die ausdrückliche Genehmigung des Instituts für Ostasienwissenschaften der Universität Wien verboten. Der gesamte Inhalt der Datenbank unterliegt dem Copyright des Instituts für Ostasienwissenschaften der Universität Wien. Bei Verwendung der wissenschaftlichen Forschungsergebnisse ist diese Quelle ausdrücklich anzugeben.
Das Institut für Ostasienwissenschaften der Universität Wien übernimmt keine Haftung für etwaige inhaltliche Fehler oder Schäden, die sich aus der Nutzung der Datenbank ergeben könnten.

Übersicht über die einzelnen (Such-)Funktionen

  1. Dreisprachige Suchmöglichkeit (Japanisch, Englisch, Deutsch)
  2. Folgende Informationen können von der Übersichtsseite aus in diesen drei Sprachen abgerufen werden:
    Geschichte (über die Geschichte der Karikatur auf japanischen Holzschnitten, 1842-1905)
    Bildkategorien (allgemeine Erklärungen über die einzelnen Kategorien)
    Künstler
    Glossar
    Literaturliste
    Institutionen und Personen (Informationen über die Besitzer der Bilder und Copyrightangaben)
    Über das Projekt
    Impressum
    Kontakt

Angaben zu den einzelnen Bildern

  1. Die Bilder können zur Detailansicht vergrößert werden.
  2. Bei Bildern die Teil einer Serie sind, kann jeweils die komplette dazugehörige Serie abgerufen werden.
  3. Ein Bild lässt sich oft in mehrere Kategorien (z.B.: yakusha-e und bijinga) gleichzeitig einordnen. Es können jeweils alle Bilder einer Bildkategorie, dem eine einzelne Karikatur angehört, abgerufen und somit Querverbindungen hergestellt werden.
  4. Datumsangaben sind bis zum 1. Jänner 1873, als der gregorianische Kalender eingeführt wurde, im System des alten japanischen Mondkalenders (taiin reki) verfasst. Der damalige 5. Monat würde also in etwa dem heutigen Juni entsprechen. Aus technischen Gründen wurde in dieser Datenbank nicht immer die Formel "1. Tag des 5. Monats des Jahres 1850", sondern auch die verkürzte Schreibweise "1.5.1850" verwendet.
  5. In der Copyright-Zeile stehen alle Angaben über das Copyright der Bilder.
    Auf Wunsch wird jedoch manchmal nicht der vollständige Name des Bildbesitzers veröffentlicht.
    Bilder für die kein Copyright zur Verfügung gestellt wurde erscheinen nur in Konturen.
    Auf allen Bildern ist aus Datenschutzgründen das Logo des Instituts für Ostasienwissenschaften der Universität Wien angebracht.
  6. Für die Benützer der Datenbank gibt es auch die Möglichkeit Kommentare zu den Bildern zu verfassen (e-Mail an die Forschungsruppe).

Bitte beachten

Wenn der vollständige Suchbegriff (Bild- oder Serientitel, Name von Verleger oder Künstler etc.) nicht bekannt ist, empfiehlt es sich den unbekannten Teil durch ein * (Asterisk) zu ersetzen. Z.B.: "Kuni*" statt "Kuniyoshi" bzw. "*tsuchigumo*" statt "Minamoto Raikō-kō yakata tsuchigumo yōkai o nasu no zu".