History

Deutsch | “ú–{Œê | English

History of the nishiki-e caricatures from 1842 to 1905

The Tenpō-reform was one of the three big reforms that took place in the Edo-period. It was conducted from the 15th day of the 5th month of 1841 by the chancellor Mizuno Tadakuni under the shogun Ieyoshi. The motto of this reform was gprohibition of luxury" and was, unlike the two foregoing reforms, aiming at the entire people. Every part of daily life, as food, clothing, amusement etc. was concerned. Within the first two years a total of 178 orders (machibure) were given to the townsfolk of Edo. The amusement- and pleasure-industry as well as the theatre-business and publishers etc. were affected by drastic prohibitions.

In the 12th month of 1841 the jihon-tonya kabu nakama as well as all the other publisher guilds were dissolved. The reason was that according to the authorities the guilds had not sufficiently fulfilled their function as censorship organs. On the 3rd day of the 6th month of 1842 a law for the control of books was enacted which replaced the existing system of self-censorship of the guilds. Already during the Kyōhō-reform in 1722 Christian religion, indiscrete comments, fashionable trends, caricatures, erotic presentations and bargain with faked ancestor documentation etc. had been forbidden. In the course of the Tenpō-reform the existing prohibitions were enforced and new ones, like the control system of publishers and authors, were added.

This system was retained in order for 15 years. In 1858 the guilds were allowed to reorganise themselves again because of economic reasons. Until then the system was modified four times:

  1. One censorship seal-period (nanushi tanfin jidai) (1843 - 11th month of 1846)
  2. Two censorship seal-period (nanushi sōfin jidai) (12th month of 1847 - 1st month of 1852)
  3. Two censorship- and date seal-period (nanushi sōfin to nengetsu-in no sanfin jidai) (2nd month of 1852 - 11th month of 1853)
  4. One anonym censorship-seal and date seal-period (aratame to nengetsu no sōfin jidai) (12th month of 1853 - 1857)

On the 4th day of the 6th month of 1842, one day after the general law for the control of books was enacted, a special law for nishiki-e and picture books was given to the townsfolk of Edo. The same measures that had been applied to books before, became applicable for the nishiki-e now: the self censorship of the guild did not exist any longer but censorship was now controlled solely by the bakufu-shogunate. Especially stressed was the prohibition of the representation of kabuki-actors, courtesans and Geishas. The prohibition of sale, of such items did not just effect newly printed, but also stocked nishiki-e, as well as fan-pictures (uchiwa-e). In the 11th month of 1842 new prohibitions concerning nishiki-e emerged. Not more than eight colours for the print were to be used, the form was not allowed to exceed the dimension of a triptych and the price of a picture had not to be more than 16 mon. These different prohibitions were a hard strike for the publishers and artists of nishiki-e as practically all their main themes had been banned.

Therefore Kuniyoshi and his scholars (Yoshitora, Yoshitsuya, Yoshikazu, Yoshifuji, Yoshiiku, Yoshitoshi et al.) started to present the themes in a humoristic and satiric way, as to bypass these prohibitions of presentation. Humorous pictures, satiric information and political caricatures etc. soon got very popular. In the 8th month of 1843 the most famous political caricature of the Tenpō-reform, the picture Minamoto Raikō-kō yakata tsuchigumo yōkai o nasu no zu was released. This caricature made a huge impact and became a big success. The publisher Ibaya Senzaburō destroyed the printing plates shortly after the first release and withdraw the unsold copies to avoid punishment for Kuniyoshi and himself. Kuniyoshi kept on producing political caricatures until his death. He produced a huge quantity of the forbidden yakusha-e and bijin-ga in a humorous way and replaced the forbidden presentation of the performers by animals, household articles etc. as travesties.

In 1845 the chancellor Mizuno Tadakuni had to step down for the second time in his career because the Tenpō-reform had failed. Thus the execution of the prohibitions loosened a bit and around 1846/47 the nishiki-e began to gain importance again. As a result of this, large quantities of nishiki-e caricatures were produced and evolved as a source of information on current events.

In the 1st month of 1847 the totetsuru-ken (Ken is a game for two or more persons, played with the hands. Different versions of ken-plays existed; one of it was similar to the "paper, fist and scissors" we are still playing nowadays.) was first performed at the Kawarazaki-theatre, causing a real ken-boom, whereupon the ken no e-versions of the actor-pictures became resoundingly successful. From Kuniyoshi alone, some 60 different versions of this type of pictures are preserved. Until the Meiji-period there have been some other successful performances of kabuki-ken-dances (kitsune-ken, sangoku-ken, Asakusa-ken, yonaoshi-ken etc.) with the belonging ken-play-pictures, but the ken-motiv has also been used with many caricatures.

From spring to summer of 1849 there was a temporary boom of the three fashion-gods. Okina Inari Daimyōjin was worshipped in Nihonbashi, Datsueba in Naitō Shinjuku Shōjuin and Otake Dainichi-nyorai in Ryōgoku Ekōin. These usually funny hayarigami-e became resoundingly popular at that time.

Not just Kuniyoshi but Hiroshige, Hirokage or Sadahide with their respective pupils were also active in the field of caricatures. A plenty of parodies about famous kabuki-plays as well as picture series (e.g.: gThe 53 Tokaidō stations"), but also about pictures of places of interest, emerged.

In 1853 Commodore Perry anchored his black ships at Uraga. This caused the shogunate to panic. Kuniyoshi painted the famous caricature Ukiyo Matabei meiga kitoku on the occasion of the resulting confusion. Because the picture became such a big success an investigation was launched but Kuniyoshi remained unmolested.

In the 8th month of 1854 the actor Ichikawa Danjūrō VIII., then superstar of the kabuki-world, killed himself in Ōsaka. 100 to 300 different versions of shini-e for him were produced thus they are forming the most famous theme of this category. Memorial-pictures became popular in the second half of the Edo-period as reminiscence of deceased people (mostly famous actors etc.) and a portrait of their life was drawn, often in an humorous way.

The absolute peek of popularity of nishiki-e caricatures was achieved by the earthquake pictures, which are nowadays known as namazu-e, issued on the occasion of the big earthquake in Edo on the 2nd day of the 10th month of 1855. Immediately after the calamity large quantities of pictures with catfish-motives emerged. The boom was stopped soon after by the prohibition of the government on the 14th day of the 12th month of the same year. Although the production lasted not longer than two and a half months, about 400 different motives of earthquake-pictures are said to have been produced, and today more than 200 different motives are known. You will neither find any signature of the artist nor a censorship stamp on this kind of pictures as the production had to be very fast because of the up-to-dateness but also anonymous because of the ban on the depiction of current events.

In 1858 a trade agreement with US-America was concluded, soon followed by similar agreements with Russia, England, France and the Netherlands. In the course of these agreements the harbours of Nagasaki, Hakodate and Yokohama were opened to foreign ships. Yokohama became an important harbour for foreign trade and a lot of foreigners became residents of this city. The Yokohama-e deal with Westerners themselves, their lifestyle, and manners and quickly gained great popularity. Some of these pictures have a funny content.

In 1861 the sister of the tennō was married to the shogun against her will because of political reasons. Several caricatures were produced on occasion of the event.

From the 4th to the 7th month of 1862 one of Japanfs largest measlesf epidemic spread in Edo. Funny hashika-e emerged as charms against the disease. General information on measles was given, and also therapeutic measures against the disease presented.

Furthermore, in the same year, one Englishman was killed and two others were wounded by samurai of a daimyō procession in the village of Namamugi in the 8th month of the same year (1862). The gIncident of Namamugi" became politically important and the English claimed a huge sum of compensation. To show their military power English war ships sailed into the bay of Edo. As the inhabitants of Edo flew in panic the different scenes of that stampede were shown in a multitude of awate-e.

1863-64 the series shōgun jōraku-e on the current theme of that time, the journey of the shogun to Kyōto, which was forbidden to be reported about, was published. Each of the g53 stations of the Tōkaidō" from Edo to Kyōto and the reception at the emperorfs castle were displayed, in disguised form.

In 1864-65 a war between the shogunate and the daimyate Chōshū took place, and a lot of caricatures were produced about the repression of the daimyate.

From 1868 to 1869 the Boshin-war was fought between the adherents of the emperor (shinseifu-gun: Satsuma-han und Chōshū-han etc.) and the Tokugawa shogunate (sabaku-gun: bakufu, Aizu-han, Kuwana-han etc.). As the year 1868 was called boshin after the Japanese calendar, the war was named after the year in which it took place. Regarding the Boshin-war so called pictures of children, kodomo no asobi-e and pictures of grown-ups, otona no tawamure-e were produced. Among all categories of caricature pictures, Boshin sensō-e are said to have the highest number and thus, constitute the peak of the boom.

After the Meiji-Restauration of 1868 western culture, science and techniques were introduced to Japan as fast as possible. The change to the western culture and ideology was not conducted as a total concept, but parts of the western lifestyle were blended in with the Japanese one. Bunmei kaika-e were making fun about the sometimes grotesque results.

In the year 1873 a hare-boom occurred and a lot of pictures with bunny-motives emerged at this time, called usagi-e.

In 1874 the painter Kawanabe Kyōsai (he had produced gcrazy pictures" about the end of the bakufu) presented the series Kyōsai raku-ga. These pictures dealt in an ironical way with the bunmei kaika of the Meiji-period. Tsukioka Yoshitoshi published Tōkyō kaika kyō-ga meisho and kigen kurabe in the same year.

In 1877 the Seinan sensō (Southwestern War or Satsuma-Rebellion) against the new Meiji-government was presented by Saigō Takamori on many Seinan sensō-e caricatures.

In 1881 Kobayashi Kiyochika, until then a landscapist, started to draw caricatures and to work at the newspaper Marumaru Chinbun (established in 1877). His caricature-series Kiyochika ponchi became resoundingly successful. After that, less and less nishiki-e caricatures were published as woodcut-prints were much more complicated and expensive in production than the new methods (lithographic print, machine print etc.) of the newspaper business. In succession the responsibilities of information and entertainment of the population were taken over by the new medium newspaper, finally displacing the nishiki-e caricatures as a whole.

At the time of the two wars of the Meiji-period, the Sino-Japanese War (Nisshin sensō, 1894-95) and the Russo-Japanese War (Nichiro sensō, 1904-05), traditional nishiki-e caricatures, Nisshin sensō-e and Nichiro sensō-e were still produced in great number. With these last series nishiki-e caricatures, which were a child of the Tenpō-reform, experienced their final boom.

Geschichte

Deutsch | { | English

Geschichte der nishiki-e Karikaturen von 1842 bis 1905

Die Tenpō-Reform war die dritte der drei grosen Reformen der Edo-Zeit und wurde ab dem 15. des 5. Monats 1841 unter dem Shogun Ieyoshi von Kanzler Mizuno Tadakuni durchgeführt. Diese Reform stand unter dem Motto "Verbot der Verschwendung" und betraf im Gegensatz zu den zwei vorangegangenen Reformen das ganze Volk. Alle Bereiche des täglichen Lebens wie Essen, Kleidung, Unterhaltung etc. waren betroffen. Innerhalb der ersten zwei Jahre wurden 178 Verbote an die Burger von Edo (machibure) ausgegeben. Das Unterhaltungs- und Vergnugungsgewerbe sowie der Theaterbetrieb aber auch Verlage waren von tief greifenden Verboten betroffen.

Im 12. Monat des Jahres 1841 wurden die jihon-tonya kabu nakama (Gilden fur Verleger populärer Unterhaltungsliteratur, Holschnitte etc.) sowie alle anderen Verlagsgilden aufgelöst, da sie ihre Zensuraufgaben nach Ansicht der Behörden nur mangelhaft wahrgenommen hatten. Am 3. Tag des 6. Monats des Jahres 1842 wurde schlieslich ein Gesetz zur Verlagskontrolle fur Bucher herausgegeben, welches die bisherige Selbstzensur der Gilden ersetzte. Schon bei der Kyōhō-Reform im Jahre 1722 waren die christliche Religion, unbesonnene Äuserungen, modische Trends, Karikaturen, erotische Darstellungen sowie Handel mit gefälschten Ahnenpässen etc. verboten worden. Im Laufe der Tenpō-Reform wurden diese bereits bestehenden Verbote noch verstärkt und weitere Verbote, wie das Kontrollsystem der Verlage und Autoren, kamen hinzu.

Dieses System wurde 15 Jahre lang bis 1858 durchgefuhrt, dann durften die Gilden sich aufgrund von wirtschaftlichen Grunden wieder selbst organisieren. In dieser Zeit wurde das Zensursystem vier Mal verändert:

  1. Ein Zensursiegel-Periode (nanushi tanfin jidai) (1843 - 11. Monat 1846)
  2. Zwei Zensursiegel-Periode (nanushi sōfin jidai) (12. Monat 1847 - 1. Monat 1852)
  3. Zwei Zensursiegel und Datumssiegel-Periode (nanushi sōfin to nengetsu-in no sanfin jidai) (2. Monat 1852 - 11.Monat 1853)
  4. Ein anonymes Zensursiegel und Datumssiegel-Periode (aratame to nengtstu no sōfin jidai) (12. Monat 1853 - 1857)

Am 4. Tag des 6. Monats 1842, einen Tag, nachdem das Gesetz zur allgemeinen Verlagskontrolle eingeführt worden war, wurde speziell für nishiki-e und Bildbänder ein Verbot (machibure) an die Bürger von Edo ausgegeben. Es gab nun auch in diesem Bereich keine Selbstzensur der Gilde mehr, sondern eine direkte Kontrolle des bakufu-Shogunats wie bereits bei den Büchern. Speziell betont wurde das Verbot, Kabuki-Schauspieler, Kurtisanen und Geishas abzubilden. Das Verkaufsverbot bestand nicht nur für Neudrucke, sondern auch für den Lagerbestand von bereits gedruckten Bildern. Auch Fächerbilder (uchiwa-e) waren von diesem Verbot betroffen. Im 11. Monat des Jahres 1842 kamen weitere Verbote für nishiki-e hinzu. Es durften nur noch bis zu acht verschiedene Farben verwendet werden, die Form nur noch die Ausmaße bis zu einem Triptychon annehmen und der Preis eines Bildes durfte 16 mon nicht übersteigen. Für die Verleger und Künstler von nishiki-e waren diese Verbote ein harter Schlag, da die bisherigen Hauptthemen jetzt verboten waren.

So stellten Kuniyoshi und seine Schüler (Yoshitora, Yoshitsuya, Yoshikazu, Yoshifuji, Yoshiiku, Yoshitoshi u.a.) von nun an die Themen humoristisch und satirisch dar, um die Darstellungsverbote zu umgehen. Humoristische Bilder, satirische Informationen, politische Karikaturen etc. wurden sehr populär. Im 8. Monat des Jahres 1843 erschien die berühmteste Politkarikatur über die Tenpō-Reform Minamoto Raikō-kō yakata tsuchigumo yōkai o nasu no zu. Dieses Bild schlug wie eine Bombe ein und wurde ein riesiger Erfolg. Der Verleger Ibaya Senzaburō ließ die Druckstöcke bereits kurz nach dem Erscheinen des Bildes vernichten, zog die noch nicht verkauften Bilder zurück und verhinderte so die Bestrafung von Kuniyoshi und seiner eigenen Person. Kuniyoshi produzierte weiterhin politische Karikaturen bis zu seinem Tod. Er stellte yakusha-e und bijinga in großer Zahl humoristisch dar und ersetzte die verbotene Abbildung der Darsteller mit Tieren oder Haushaltsgegenständen etc. als Travestien.
1845 musste Kanzler Mizuno Tadakuni zum zweiten Mal in seiner Karriere zurücktreten da die Tenpō-Reform gescheitert war. Dadurch lockerte sich der Vollzug der Verordnungen etwas und um 1846/47 begannen die nishiki-e wieder an Bedeutung zu gewinnen. In der Folge wurden nishiki-e Karikaturen massenhaft produziert und begannen somit zu einer Informationsquelle über aktuelle Geschehnisse zu werden.

Im 1. Monat des Jahres 1847 wurde im Kawarazaki Kabuki-Theater das totetsuru-ken (Ken ist ein Spiel für zwei oder mehr Personen, das mit den Händen gespielt wird. Es gibt verschiedene Versionen, eine davon ähnelt unserem heutigen „Schere, Stein, Papier“) uraufgeführt und löste einen regelrechten ken-Boom aus. Danach wurde dieses Thema der Schauspielporträts auf ken no e massenhaft verkauft. Nur von Kuniyoshi alleine sind ca. 60 verschiedene Bildarten erhalten. Bis in die Meiji-Zeit gab es immer wieder verschiedene Kabuki-ken-Aufführungen (kitsune-ken, sangoku-ken, Asakusa-ken, yonaoshi-ken, etc.) mit den dazugehörigen ken-Bildern, das ken-Motiv wurde aber auch bei vielen Karikaturen verwendet.
Vom Frühjahr bis Sommer 1849 entstand kurzzeitig ein Boom um drei Modegötter. Okina Inari Daimyōjin wurde in Nihonbashi verehrt. Datsueba in Naitō Shinjuku Shōjuin und Otake Dainichi-nyorai in Ryōgoku Ekōin. Diese meist sehr witzigen hayarigami-e, die diesen Boom bedienten, erfreuten sich zur damaligen Zeit einer außerordentlichen Beliebtheit.
Aber nicht nur Kuniyoshi, sondern auch Hiroshige, Hirokage oder Sadahide waren jeweils mit ihren Schülern im Bereich der Karikatur tätig. Massenhafte Parodien über berühmte Kabuki-Stücke sowie Bildserien (z.B.: „Die 53 Stationen des Tōkaidō“) aber auch Karikaturen über Bilder von Sehenswürdigkeiten entstanden.

1853 ankerte Kommodore Perry mit seinen schwarzen Schiffen vor Uraga. Anlässlich des in Panik geratende Shogunats und der sich daraus ergebenden Konfusion brachte Kuniyoshi die berühmte Karikatur Ukiyo Matabei meiga kitoku heraus. Weil das Bild so großen Erfolg hatte, gab es eine Untersuchung, aber Kuniyoshi kam unbehelligt davon.
Im 8. Monat des Jahres 1854 beging der damalige Superstar der Kabuki-Welt, der Schauspieler Ichikawa Danj?rō VIII, in ōsaka Selbstmord. Anlässlich seines Todes wurden 100 bis 300 verschiedene shini-e produziert. Diese gehören somit zum populärsten Thema dieser Kategorie. Shini-e kamen in der zweiten Hälfte der Edo-Zeit auf. Als Erinnerung an Verstorbene – meist berühmte Schauspieler oder andere Berühmtheiten – wurde ein Porträt ihres Lebens gezeichnet, oft in humorvoller Art.
Unglaubliche Popularität erreichten die nishiki-e Karikaturen jedoch mit den heute als namazu-e bezeichneten Erdbebenbildernanlässlich des großen Erdbebens in Edo am 2. Tag des 10. Monats des Jahres 1855. Sofort nach diesem Unglück entstanden massenhaft Bilder mit Wels-Motiven. Dieser Boom hielt jedoch nur ca. zweieinhalb Monate an, da sie am 14. Tag des 12. Monats des gleichen Jahres von der Regierung verboten wurden. Trotz dieses kurzen Zeitraums wurden große Mengen an Erdbebenbildern produziert. Damals wurden ca. 400 verschiedene Bilder verlegt, von welchen heute ca. 200 verschiedene Bildmotive bekannt sind. Auf den Bildern befinden sich weder Name des Künstlers noch Zensurstempel, da die Produktion aufgrund der Aktualität einerseits schnell gehen und andererseits wegen des Verbots der Abbildung von aktuellen Ereignissen auch anonym erfolgen musste.

1858 wurde ein Handelsvertrag mit US-Amerika abgeschlossen, danach auch mit Russland, England, Frankreich und den Niederlanden. Im Zuge dieser Verträge wurden die Häfen von Nagasaki, Hakodate und Yokohama für ausländische Schiffe geöffnet. Daraufhin entwickelte sich Yokohama rasch zu einer großen Handelsstadt, in der sich auch viele Ausländer niederließen. Die Yokohama-e befassten sich mit dem neuen Lebensstil der Ausländer und wurden sehr populär. Etliche dieser Bilder sind scherzhaften Inhalts.

1861 wurde die Schwester des tennō gegen ihren Willen aus politischen Gründen mit dem Shogun verheiratet, worüber einige Karikaturen entstanden.

Ab dem 4. Monat bis zum 7. Monat des Jahres1862 kursierte in Edo eine der größten Masernepidemien Japans. Lustige hashika-e entstanden als Talisman gegen die Krankheit. Es gab Verhaltensmaßregeln wie man sich vor der Krankheit schützen könne, aber auch Therapievorschläge.
Weiters wurde im 8. Monat des gleichen Jahres (1862) im Dorf Namamugi ein Engländer von Samurai eines daimyō-Zuges ermordet und drei Engländer verletzt. Dieser „Vorfall von Namamugi“ verursachte großes Aufsehen und schließlich forderten die Engländer eine beträchtliche Geldsumme als Wiedergutmachung. Zur Machtdemonstration fuhren sie mit Militärschiffen in die Bucht von Edo ein. Einwohner von Edo und Umgebung flüchteten in größter Eile. Über die Hysterie, die die Einwohner von Edo ergriff, erschienen etliche humorvolle awate-e.

1863-64 entstand eine Serie shōgun jōraku-e über das verbotene aktuelle Thema der Zeit, die Reise des Shoguns nach Kyōto. Alle „53 Stationen des Tōkaidō“ von Edo bis Kyōto sowie der Empfang im Kaiserpalast wurden travestiert dargestellt.
1864-65 wurde der Krieg zwischen dem Shogunat und dem Daimyat Chōsh? in vielen Karikaturen behandelt.
Von 1868 bis 1869 wurde zwischen dem Tokugawa Shogunat (sabaku-gun: bakufu, Aizu-han, Kuwana-han etc.) und den Anhängern des Kaisers(shinseifu-gun: Satsuma-han, Chōsh?-han etc.) der Boshin-Krieg ausgetragen. Nach dem japanischen Kalender heißt das Jahr 1868 boshin-Jahr. Zum Boshin-Krieg entstanden die sogenannten Boshin sensō-e Karikaturen. Diese bestanden aus Bildern von Kindern kodomo no asobi-e und Bildern von Erwachsenen otona no tawamure-e. Von allen Karikaturbildern wurde von dieser Kategorie die größte Anzahl produziert und bildete somit die Spitze des Karikaturbooms.
Nach der Meiji-Restauration 1868 wurde versucht, möglichst rasch westliche Kultur, Wissenschaft und Technik in Japan einzuführen. Japaner übernahmen den westlichen Lebensstil und westliche Ideologien. Es erfolgte jedoch keine ganzheitliche Übernahme, sondern stückchenweise wurden westliche mit traditionellen japanischen Elementen kombiniert. Die zu dieser Zeit entstandenen bunmei kaika-e thematisierten die Probleme, die durch die erzwungene Modernisierung entstanden, und machten sich über die teilweise grotesken Ergebnisse, z.B. in der Mode, lustig.

1873 gab es einen Hasen-Boom. Viele usagi-e mit Hasen-Motiven entstanden zu dieser Zeit.

1874 gab der Maler Kawanabe Kyōsai (der davor „verrückte Bilder“ über das Ende des bakufu gezeichnet hatte) eine Serie Kyōsai rakuga heraus. Diese beschäftigte sich auf ironische Weise mit der bunmei kaika der Meiji-Zeit. Tsukioka Yoshitoshi veröffentlichte im gleichen Jahr Tōkyō kaika kyōga meisho und kigen kurabe.

1877 wurde der Seinan sensō (Südwestlicher Krieg oder Satsuma-Rebellion) gegen die neue Meiji-Regierung von Saigō Takamori auf vielen Karikaturen, den Seinan sensō-e, dargestellt.

1881 begann Kobayashi Kiyochika, der bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt als Landschaftsmaler gearbeitet hatte, Karikaturen zu zeichnen und in der Marumaru Chinbun (1877 gegründet) zu arbeiten. Die von ihm herausgegebene Karikaturenserie Kiyochika ponchi wurde ein großer Erfolg. Daraufhin wurden immer weniger nishiki-e Karikaturen herausgegeben, da Holzschnitte im Gegensatz zu den neuen Techniken (Lithographie, Maschinendruck etc.) der Zeitungsherstellung weit komplizierter und damit zu teuer waren. Aufgaben wie die Information oder Unterhaltung der Bevölkerung wurden in Folge immer mehr vom neuen Medium Zeitung übernommen, bis die Zeitungskarikaturen schließlich die nishiki-e Karikaturen völlig ersetzten.

Über die zwei Kriege der Meiji-Zeit, den Sino-Japanischen Krieg (Nisshin sensō, 1894-95) und den Russisch-Japanischen Krieg (Nichiro-sensō, 1904-05) wurden jeweils noch Kriegskarikaturen Nisshin sensō-e und Nichiro sensō-e in der alten nishiki-e-Tradition angefertigt. Die japanische nishiki-e Karikatur, ein Kind der Tenpō-Reform, erlebte mit den Bildern über den Russisch-Japanischen Krieg von 1905 ihren letzten Boom.